Self Care

This morning while walking with Milo, I had this weird sensation that my left leg was giving out when I’d take step.  There was pain in my hip, that went into my lower back.
I ended up going back to bed for a few hours.
I didn’t feel much better when I got up, so I decided today would be a good day to do some self care.
With starting to run again, and recovering from surgery – I have no doubt that my body needed to be put back into alignment.
I was able to see my chiropractor today, followed by a massage a few hours later.

My body already feels amazing from these adjustments.  I can actually look over either shoulder without any discomfort, that range of motion is back. Also, that weird leg giving out sensation is gone.

I should have been in bed early last night, but I got wrapped up in the world of “googling”.  My friend and I are heading out for a hike.   We are going state side to the Adirondacks to start chipping away at 46’er peaks.  My goal is to hike Porter & Cascade mountain on Sunday.  If it becomes too much for me, then we agreed we would turn back and try it again.  Simple as that.

I’m a bit bummed with the fact that Sunday is suppose to be one of my 10km training days.  BUT, provided how my body feels after this high peak hike, I’ll pick up where I left off on Monday.  Nothing heals the body and soul like being out in nature.

I thought about making an entirely new blog to log my hikes on.  I may just do that, or keep all my experiences in one place.  Shall see.

Off to shut down the electronics and settle in for the night.
Later.

*Mountain info*

Porter Mountain is in Essex County of New York. It is one of the 46 Adirondack High Peaks and is located in the Adirondack Park. Its name comes from Noah Porter, later president of Yale University and one of the first to climb it.
Elevation: 4,058′
First ascent: 1875
Prominence: 330′

Cascade Mountain is in Essex County of New York. It is one of the 46 Adirondack High Peaks and is located in the Adirondack Park. Its name comes from a series of waterfalls on a brook near the mountain’s base.
Elevation: 4,098′
Prominence: 1,178′
First ascent: 1872

Leave a Reply

