Day 65 (GVRAT)

I told myself this morning to just go and grab 8.19km. You can turn around after that. I’ve been feeling a bit rundown lately.
No sooner did my key went into the door, I told myself if you can do that, you can do 10km, and while you’re out there you might as well just do the loop and grab 15km. The sooner you do this, the sooner this race will be over.
While I was out there, I almost had myself convinced that I’d only do 10km. I went into autopilot mode, a trainer I had briefly was out running speed work with a few others. Seeing them encouraged me to push myself a bit, I ran a little bit and that felt okay.

Last night while laying in bed I had a moment of, I gotta get up tomorrow and do this all over again. I feel those thoughts creeping in again today. I need to flip that switch and get back into the mindset of “I get to do this again tomorrow”.

So Milo, on our way home we stopped by Tom’s (you used to lay on his grass and snooze, the only person who could get you up and moving was Arlene). I asked him how he grew his sunflowers. I tried a few weeks ago and they didn’t take. He told me he had a few in a flat that he wasn’t using, and I was welcome to them. I paused the Garmin and went into his backyard with him. He has a gorgeous garden!
We talked about my race a bit, then I hit resume and off I went to finish up my remaining distance.

Total distance today: 15.13km
Total distance remaining: 183.44km

Until tomorrow…

Leave a comment